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IT-541i (1/25) 	

General Information and Instructions for  
Completing Form IT-541 Fiduciary Income Tax Return

Who Must File a Return
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:162 provides that every resident 
estate or trust and every nonresident estate or trust deriving 
income from Louisiana sources is liable for an income tax under 
the following guidelines:

1.	 The net income of an estate or trust for the taxable year is 
$2,500 or more.

2.	 The gross income of an estate or trust for the taxable year is 
$6,000 or more, regardless of the amount of net income.

3.	 The beneficiary of an estate or trust is a nonresident of 
Louisiana.

Grantor trusts, defined in La. R.S. 47:187 are also required to file a 
return if any part of the net Louisiana income is taxable to the trust 
or to the nonresident beneficiaries of the grantor trust. 

Definitions
Bankruptcy Estate – An estate formed for a debtor for which a 
petition for relief has been filed and granted under chapter 7 or 
chapter 11 of title 11 of the United States Code (“Bankruptcy Code”)

•	 If the debtor is an individual, the bankruptcy estate is treated 
under federal law, and thus Louisiana, as a separate taxable 
entity. 

•	 A separate taxable entity is not created if a partnership or 
corporation files a petition under any chapter of title 11 of the 
U.S. Bankruptcy Code. 

Fiduciary – Any person, firm, partnership, or association in whom 
a legal or ethical relationship of trust is established between two or 
more parties to manage and protect property or money. A fiduciary 
will have sufficient knowledge of the affairs of the trust or estate to 
enable the preparation and filing of a true and correct return. 

Foreign Estate – Estates located outside the United States that 
derive income from Louisiana sources but are not required to file 
United States fiduciary income tax returns

Foreign Trust – Trusts located outside the United States that derive 
income from Louisiana sources but are not required to file United 
States fiduciary income tax returns 

Louisiana Taxable Income – La. R.S. 47:300.6 defines Louisiana 
taxable income of a resident estate or trust as the amount of income 
taxed in accordance with federal law for the same taxable year. La. 
R.S. 47:300.7 defines Louisiana taxable income of a nonresident 
estate or trust as the amount of income taxed in accordance with 
federal law earned within or derived from sources within Louisiana 
for the same taxable year. 

Resident Bankruptcy Estate – A bankruptcy estate formed for a 
debtor for which a petition for relief has been filed and granted under 
the Bankruptcy Code with any bankruptcy court located in Louisiana

Resident Estate – The estate of a decedent who was domiciled in 
Louisiana at the time of death

Resident Trust – A trust or a portion of a trust created by the last 
will and testament of a decedent domiciled in Louisiana at the time 
of death. If the trust instrument provides that the trust is governed 
by Louisiana law, the trust is considered to be a resident trust 

even if the decedent was domiciled in another state at the time 
of death. Any trust instrument that does not specify as to which 
state’s governing law prevails and that is administered in this state 
is considered a resident trust.

Nonresident Bankruptcy Estate – A bankruptcy estate formed for 
a debtor for which a petition for relief has been filed and granted 
under the Bankruptcy Code with any bankruptcy court not located 
in Louisiana

Nonresident Estate – The estate of a decedent who was not 
domiciled in Louisiana at the time of death

Nonresident Trust – Any trust that is not considered to be a resident 
trust. If the trust instrument provides that the trust is governed by 
another state’s law, the trust is considered to be a nonresident trust 
even if the decedent was domiciled in Louisiana at the time of death.

Foreign Estates and Trusts Located Outside the United States
Foreign estates and trusts located outside the United States are 
generally not required to file a United States fiduciary income tax 
return. However, if the estate or trust derived income from Louisiana 
sources, the filing of a Louisiana fiduciary income tax return is 
required. The tax is imposed in the same manner as any other 
nonresident estate or trust. An alternate method of imposing the 
tax provided under La. R.S. 47:300.3(3) allows estates and trusts 
located outside the United States to elect to be taxed on total gross 
income from Louisiana sources at the rate of 5%. If this election is 
being made, enter a "1" in the box on Line 7. 

Fiduciary Responsibility
As an entity in whom a relationship of trust is established to manage 
and protect property and money, the fiduciary is responsible for the 
preparation and filing of a true and correct return. La. R.S. 47:300.5 
provides that the fiduciary of an estate or trust is personally liable 
for the payment of all taxes, penalties, and interest due by the 
estate or trust. The tax liability imposed on any beneficiary of the 
estate and trust is not the responsibility of the fiduciary.

Income Taxed To Fiduciary
Under the provisions of La. R.S. 47:181 and 47:300.2, the income 
tax imposed on an estate or trust for which a fiduciary will file 
applies to the Louisiana taxable income of estates or of any kind of 
property held in trust, including the following:

1.	 Income accumulated in trust for the benefit of unborn or 
unascertained persons or persons with contingent interests, 
and income accumulated or held for future distribution under 
the terms of the will or trust

2.	 Income that is to be distributed currently by the fiduciary to the 
beneficiaries and income collected by a guardian of a minor 
that is to be held or distributed as the court may direct

3.	 Income received by the estates of deceased persons during 
the period of administration or settlement of the estate

4.	 Income that, in the discretion of the fiduciary, may be either 
distributed to the beneficiaries or accumulated

NOTE: Include all income from Electing Small Business Trusts 
(ESBTs) on this return. Also, there is no special tax calculation for 
this income and no need to file a separate return. 
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Tax Rates Applied to Louisiana Taxable Income
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:300.1 provides the tax to be assessed, 
levied, collected, and paid upon the Louisiana taxable income of an 
estate or trust shall be computed at the following rates:

1.	 1.85% on the first $10,000 of Louisiana taxable income

2.	 3.5% on the next $40,000 of Louisiana taxable income

3.	 4.25% on Louisiana taxable income in excess of $50,000

Information at Source
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:164 provides that any person, firm, 
partnership, trust, corporation, or organization making payments 
totaling $1,000 or more during any taxable year for lease bonuses, 
delay rentals, mineral leases affecting lands located in Louisiana 
and rentals paid for real property located in Louisiana to a 
nonresident individual or a firm, partnership, trust, corporation, 
or organization not located in Louisiana shall file an information 
return with the Secretary of Revenue on or before June 1 of the 
following year for each payee. The Federal Information Return 
Forms (Form 1099 et al.) used for reporting such payments to the 
Internal Revenue Service may be used for reporting the required 
information. A completed Federal Form 1099 should include the 
name and address of the entity receiving the payment, a Federal 
Employer Identification Number or the social security number 
of the payor and payee, and the amount and description of the 
payment made to the payee. Federal Form 1099 should be included 
with the filing of Form R-1203, L-3 Transmittal of Withholding Tax 
Statements. Informational returns reporting other items of income 
that would normally appear on the Federal Form 1099 are required 
only upon the specific request of the Secretary of Revenue.

For this purpose, amounts distributable to beneficiaries will be 
reportable if the income shown on the fiduciary return is for lease 
bonuses, delay rentals, or royalties from mineral leases affecting 
lands located in Louisiana and rentals paid for the use of real 
property located in Louisiana. 

Annual Information Return of Service Recipient 
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:114.1 requires all service recipients 
who are required to file Federal Form 1099-NEC with the IRS to 
file any Form 1099-NEC for services provided in Louisiana or for 
services performed by an individual residing in Louisiana at the 
time the services were performed with LDR. Form 1099-NEC can 
be filed electronically, or if you are filing less than 50, by paper 
with the filing of Form R-91001, Annual Summary and Transmittal of 
Form 1099-NEC. See LDR's website for more information.

Electric and Hybrid Vehicle Road Usage Fee 
Louisiana imposes a road usage fee on the owner or lessee of 
an electric or hybrid vehicle registered and operated in Louisiana 
during the calendar year as provided by La. R.S. 32:461. The fee 
is dedicated to state and local transportation and development 
funds and is to supplement the “road tax” paid on gas. The fee for 
2024 is due on or before May 15, 2025, and is reported by filing 
Form R-19000, Electric and Hybrid Vehicle Road Usage Fee. For 
additional information, see LAC 61:I.5501.

Pass-Through Entity Tax Election 
If the income earned by an estate or trust as a member, 
shareholder, or partner of an electing entity is included as income 
on the fiduciary income tax return, the trust or estate is allowed to 
take the exclusion of the income on its income tax return. Resident 
estates or trusts should refer to the instructions for Lines 2D and 
3D, nonresidents see Schedule A, Lines 4 and 5D. 

If the income earned by an estate or trust as a member, shareholder, 
or partner of an electing entity is distributed to a beneficiary filing 
an individual income tax return in Louisiana in the same taxable 
year it is earned, the individual is allowed to take the exclusion 
of the distributed income on their individual income tax return for 
that taxable year. If the income is distributed to a corporation as a 
member, shareholder, or partner of an electing entity, the income is 
taxable to the corporation. 

Electronic Filing Mandate
Louisiana Administrative Code 61:III.1509 requires the electronic 
filing of the Form IT-541 if the return is filed with one or more 
Schedule K-1s attached. 

Due Date of the Fiduciary Return
A 2024 calendar year return is due on May 15, 2025. Fiscal year 
returns must be filed on or before the 15th day of the fifth month 
after the close of the fiscal period. If the due date falls on a weekend 
or legal holiday, the return is due the next business day.

Where to File a Fiduciary Return
Fiduciary returns must be filed with the Louisiana Department of 
Revenue, P. O. Box 3440, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-3440. 
DO NOT SEND CASH. Checks or money orders should be made 
payable to the Louisiana Department of Revenue. 

An electronic payment option is available on the LDR website at 
www.revenue.louisiana.gov/latap. You can also pay your taxes by 
credit card over the internet or by telephone. Visit www.revenue.
louisiana.gov for more information.

Extension of Time for Filing
If you know you cannot file your return by the due date, you do not 
need to file for an extension. You will automatically be granted an 
extension of six months to November 15, 2025.

Important: An extension does not relieve you of your 
obligation to pay all tax amounts due by the original due date. 
If you anticipate that you will owe additional tax on your return, you 
should submit your payment with Form R-6466V, Fiduciary Income 
Tax Electronically Filed Extension Payment Voucher, by May 15, 
2025. An extension means only that you will not be assessed a 
delinquent filing penalty for filing your return after the due date but 
before the extended due date. Interest on the additional tax due 
from the due date of the return and any penalties will be assessed 
if applicable. If you file your return after the extended due date, you 
will be assessed a delinquent filing penalty from the original due 
date of the return. NOTE: No paper or electronic extension form 
needs to be filed to obtain the automatic extension.

Amended Returns
If you file your fiduciary income tax return and later become aware of 
any changes you must make, you must file an amended Louisiana 
return along with an explanation of the change(s) and a copy of the 
federal amended return, if one was filed. The form should be clearly 
marked with an "X" in the "Amended Return" box.

Federal Tax Adjustments
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:103(C) requires taxpayers whose 
federal returns are adjusted to furnish a statement disclosing the 
nature and amounts of such adjustments within 60 days after the 
adjustments have been made and accepted. This statement should 
accompany your amended return.

http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/latap
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov
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Interest on Refunds 
According to La. R.S. 1624(A)(1), interest is allowed on refunds from 
ninety days after the later of the due date of the return, the filing 
date of the return or claim for refund on which the overpayment 
is claimed, or the date the tax was paid. Per La. R.S. 47:1624(F), 
the accrual of interest shall be suspended during any period that 
a delay in the issuance of a refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s 
failure to provide information or documentation required by statute 
or regulation certain credits claimed on this tax return. 

Rounding to Whole Dollars
Round cents to the nearest whole dollar on Form IT-541. Total 
prepayments, including any credit carried forward from last year, 
should also be rounded to the nearest whole dollar.

Allocation and Apportionment of Net Income
The Louisiana income tax is imposed upon only that part of the net 
income of a nonresident estate or trust that is derived from sources 
within Louisiana. Nonresident estates and trusts are required to 
allocate and apportion their income. Use Schedule A – Computation 
of Louisiana taxable income before income distribution deduction 
and Schedule B – Computation of apportionment percentage to 
calculate the amount of Louisiana taxable income before the 
income distribution deduction. 

Special Filing Instructions for Bankruptcy Estates of an 
Individual Debtor
If a bankruptcy estate is filing Form IT-541 for an individual debtor, 
a copy of Federal Form 1041 and the attached Form 1040 must be 
attached to the return. The Louisiana income tax for the fiduciary is 
calculated under the tax rates for fiduciaries. Form IT-540 or IT-540B 
does not need to be completed or attached to the Form IT-541.

Special Filing Instructions for a Rapid Tax Determination 
Request
To request a rapid tax determination from LDR, the bankruptcy 
estate should mail a letter requesting a rapid tax determination of 
the kind provided for by Bankruptcy Code Section 505(b)(2)), along 
with the tax returns for the covered tax periods to the department 
at this address: 

Louisiana Department of Revenue
Bankruptcy Section, Collection Division
ATTN: Bankruptcy Section Supervisor
Post Office Box 66658
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70896-6658

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM IT-541

About this Form
The return has been designed for electronic scanning, which permits 
faster processing with fewer errors. In order to avoid unnecessary 
delays caused by manual processing, taxpayers should follow the 
guidelines listed below:

1.	 Enter amounts only on those lines that are applicable.

2.	 Use only a pen with black ink.

3.	 Because this form is read by a machine, enter your numbers 
inside the boxes like this:

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 X
4.	 All numbers should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Numbers 

should NOT be entered over the pre-printed zeros, in the 
boxes on the far right, which are used to designate cents (.00).

5.	 For Lines 1 and 4, mark the box to the left of the entry field 
if the amount is less than zero. Do not use a negative sign 
or parentheses with the amount. For example, if your Federal 
taxable income on Line 1 is a $10,000 loss, mark the box on 
Line 1 and enter 10,000.

6.	 To avoid any delay in processing, use this form for 2024 only.

7.	 If you are filing an amended return, mark an “X” in the “Amended 
Return” box on the face of the return.

Period Covered
Mark the box to indicate a calendar year return or a fiscal year 
return. For fiscal year and 52 - 53 week filers, the dates on which 
the reported period begin and end must be plainly stated in the 
appropriate space at the top of the return. The income tax period 
must be the same as that used for federal income tax purposes.

Returns for Part of the Year
Mark the appropriate box to indicate the filing of a short period 
return or a final return. For a short period return, the dates on which 
the reported period begin and end must be plainly stated in the 
appropriate space at the top of the return. The income tax period 
must be the same as that used for federal income tax purposes. 

Information Required
Provide the LDR Account Number for the estate or trust, its Federal 
Identification Number, and the legal name of the estate or trust. 
Two lines are provided for the name. Provide the mailing address, 
city, state, and zip code. If there is a change in your address since 
last year’s return, mark an “X” in the “Address Change” box. A direct 
address change can be accomplished by marking the “Address 
Change” box when filing your return, or can be submitted by 
accessing your account at www.revenue.louisiana.gov/latap. Mark 
all applicable boxes indicating whether the trust is a resident trust 
or a nonresident trust and whether the return being filed is an initial 
return, an amended return, a final return, or a short period return. 

Indicate the date the entity was created and the fiduciary's six digit 
2022 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code 
in the spaces provided. Provide the number of Schedules K-1 and 
attach them to the return. Enter the code(s) that describes the entity 
for which you are filing the return. In some cases more than one 
code should be entered. For each entity type checked on Federal 
Form 1041, Box A, enter the code(s) from the following list: 

Code Entity Type
A Decedent's Estate
B Simple Trust
C Complex Trust
D Qualified Disability Trust
E ESBT (S portion only)
F Grantor Type Trust
G Bankruptcy Estate - Ch. 7
H Bankruptcy Estate - Ch. 11
I Pooled Income Fund
J  Split-Interest Trust
K Charitable Remainder Trust

http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/latap
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COMPUTATION OF INCOME

Line 1 – Federal Taxable Income before Modifications
Resident bankruptcy estates enter the taxable income amount 
reported on Line 15 of the Federal Form 1040 that is an attachment 
to the Federal Form 1041. Resident Electing Small Business 
Trusts (ESBT) enter the combined amount of the taxable 
income of the S portion of the ESBT, and the amount reported 
for the non-S portion on Federal Form 1041, Line 23. All other 
resident trusts and resident estates enter the taxable income 
amount reported on Federal Form 1041, Line 23.

If the estate or trust is a nonresident estate or trust, DO NOT 
complete Lines 1 through 3G. Complete Schedule A – 
Computation of Louisiana Taxable Income before Income 
Distribution Deduction and Schedule B - Computation of 
Apportionment Percent, if any of the net income is subject to 
apportionment. See instructions for Schedule A.

ADDITIONS

Line 2A – Net Income Tax Paid to any State or Political or 
Municipal Subdivision
Enter the amount of net income tax paid to any state, political, 
or municipal subdivision that was deducted in the calculation of 
federal taxable income.

Line 2B – Interest Income from other States and their Political 
or Municipal Subdivisions
Enter the amount of interest on obligations of a state, political, or 
municipal subdivision other than Louisiana and its municipalities 
that are vested with the estate, trust, or fiduciary on or after  
January 1, 1980.

Line 2C – Donation to School Tuition Organization Credit or 
Donation to Qualified Foster Care Charitable Organization Credit 
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:6301(A)(1)(a) provides for a 
prohibition on double state benefits for a donation to a school 
tuition organization (STO). If you claimed the credit for a donation 
to a STO on IT-541, Schedule NRC-P3, you must add back certain 
deductions taken at the federal level otherwise deductible for state 
income tax purposes if the corporation’s federal deductions for 
charitable contributions allowed by Internal Revenue Code Section 
170 included a deduction for the donation made by the corporation 
to the STO. See Revenue Information Bulletin 18-024 for more 
information.

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:6042(A)(1)(c) provides for a prohibition 
on double state benefits for a donation to a qualified foster care 
organization. If you claimed the credit for a donation to a qualified 
foster care organization on IT-541, Schedule NRC-P3, you must 
add back certain deductions taken at the federal level otherwise 
deductible for state income tax purposes if the corporation’s federal 
deductions for charitable contributions allowed by Internal Revenue 
Code Section 170 included a deduction for the donation made by 
the corporation to the qualified foster care organization. See LAC 
61:I.1925 for more information.

The addition required to be made on Line 2C is the amount of the 
charitable contribution made to the STO and the qualified foster 
care organization claimed on the fiduciary's federal return. The 
addition is limited to the amount of the credit claimed on the return 
for the corresponding donation.

Line 2D – Add Back of Pass - Through Entity Loss
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:300.6(B)(2)(e)(i) provides an 
exclusion for an estate or trust who is a shareholder, member, or 
partner of an entity that made the pass-through entity tax election 
under La. R.S. 47:287.732.2. This election allows S corporations, 

and other entities taxed as partnerships for federal income tax 
purposes, to pay Louisiana income tax at the entity level. The entity 
must have received LDR’s approval of the election. The add-back 
amount is the Louisiana net operating loss that was reported at the 
entity level for this tax year that is included on Federal Form 1041. 
You must also include any net operating loss carried forward from a 
tax year in which the election was made and utilized in this tax year. 

This amount should be included in the amount on Line 1. Do not 
include income not taxed at the entity level such as interest and 
dividend income. See Revenue Information Bulletin 23-022 and 
LAC 61:I.1001 for more information. You must attach a copy of 
Form R-6981, Louisiana Statement of Owner’s Share of Entity 
Level Tax Items, and a pro forma Federal Form 1041 that excludes 
any income, deductions or other tax items that were included in 
the calculation of Louisiana net income on the entity’s Louisiana 
Form CIFT-620. The amount that you can exclude is the difference 
in federal taxable income calculated on your Federal Form 1041 
and the pro forma Federal Form 1041. If the difference is a loss, 
the loss must be added to your federal taxable income on this line.

Line 2E – Federal Exemption
Resident bankruptcy estates enter zero "0" on this line. Resident 
trusts and all other resident estates enter the exemption amount 
reported on Federal Form 1041, Line 21.

Line 2F – Federal Income Distribution Deduction
Resident bankruptcy estates enter zero. Resident trusts and all 
other resident estates enter the amount from Federal Form 1041, 
Line 18.

Line 2G – Total
Add Lines 2A through 2F.

SUBTRACTIONS

Line 3A – Interest and Dividends on U.S. Government 
Obligations
Enter the amount of interest and dividends from U.S. government 
obligations or any income that is exempt from taxation under the 
laws of Louisiana.

Line 3B – Depletion in Excess of Federal Depletion
Enter the amount of Louisiana depletion in excess of federal 
depletion. In computing net income in the case of oil and gas wells, 
a deduction is allowed for cost depletion or percentage depletion, 
whichever is greater. Percentage depletion is calculated as 22% of 
gross income from the property during the taxable year, excluding 
from such gross income an amount equal to any rents and royalties 
paid or incurred by the taxpayer from the property. The depletion 
deduction cannot exceed 50% of the net income of the taxpayer 
computed without allowance for depletion from the property. In 
determining net income from the property, federal income tax is 
considered an expense.

Line 3C – S Bank Exclusion
Enter the amount of the S Bank shareholder exclusion that the 
estate or trust can claim. The amount of the exclusion is considered 
nontaxable income. La. R.S. 47:297.3(B)(5) provides that “S Bank 
nontaxable income” means (A) the portion of the income reported by 
an S Bank on Federal Form 1120S Schedule K-1 or (B) the portion 
of the income reported by an S Bank on an equivalent document, 
which is attributable to the net earnings used to compute the S 
Bank’s share's tax as provided in La. R.S. 47:1967. Attach a copy 
of Schedule K-1 as documentation for the amount excluded. The 
exclusion is only allowed if the entity did not make the pass-through 
entity tax election under La. R.S. 47:287.732.2. 



5

Line 3D – Pass - Through Entity Exclusion 
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:300.6(B)(2)(e)(i) provides for an 
exclusion for an estate or trust who is a shareholder, member, or 
partner of an entity that made the pass-through entity tax election 
under La. R.S. 47:287.732.2. This election allows S corporations, and 
other entities taxed as partnerships for federal income tax purposes, 
to pay Louisiana income tax at the entity level. The entity must have 
received LDR’s approval of the election. The excluded amount is the 
income that was taxed at the entity level that is included on Federal 
Form 1041. This amount should be included in the amount on Line 1. 
Do not include income not taxed at the entity level such as interest 
and dividend income. See Revenue Information Bulletin 23-022 and 
LAC 61:I.1001 for more information. You must attach a copy of Form 
R-6981, Louisiana Statement of Owner’s Share of Entity Level Tax 
Items, and a pro forma Federal Form 1041 that excludes any income, 
deductions or other tax items that were included in the calculation 
of Louisiana net income on the entity’s Louisiana Form CIFT-620. 
The amount that you can exclude is the difference in federal taxable 
income calculated on your Federal Form 1041 and the pro forma 
Federal Form 1041. If the difference is a loss, the loss must be added 
to your federal taxable income on Line 2D.

Line 3E – Exemption
Enter 2,500.

Line 3F – Other Subtractions
On a separate schedule, list the source and amount of other 
subtractions allowed from federal net income. For the deduction 
for employment of certain qualified disabled individuals (La. 
R.S. 47:297.13), Form R-10605, Application for Deduction for 
Employment of Certain Qualified Disabled Individuals, must be 
attached to your return.

Line 3G – Total
Add Lines 3A through 3F. 

Line 4 – Louisiana Taxable Income before Income Distribution 
Deduction 
For resident estates and trusts, Louisiana taxable income before 
the income distribution deduction is calculated by adding the 
amount on Line 1 to the amount on Line 2G and subtracting the 
amount on Line 3G. Enter the result. For nonresident estates and 
trusts, complete Schedule A and Schedule B. Enter the result from 
Schedule A, Line 13, and check the box on Line 4.

Line 5 – Louisiana Income Distribution Deduction
Enter the portion of Louisiana income that was distributed or was 
required to be distributed to the beneficiaries. Complete Schedule 
C – Distributive Shares of Beneficiaries by providing information for 
each beneficiary.

Line 6 – Louisiana Taxable Income
Subtract Line 5 from Line 4. If less than zero, enter zero. 

Line 7 – Total Tax
The Louisiana taxable income from Line 6 is taxed in three distinct 
brackets at 1.85%, 3.5%, and 4.25% respectively. Complete 
Worksheet 1 - Calculation of Income Tax to determine your income 
tax liability. Enter a “1” in the box on Line 7 if a foreign estate or trust 
electing to be taxed on total gross income from Louisiana sources 
at the rate of 5%. 

Line 8 – Credit for Net Income Taxes Paid to Other States 
Resident estates or trusts are allowed a credit for net income taxes 
paid to other states. Note that you may not claim the tax withheld; 
you must file a return with the other state and claim the tax actually 
paid. You may not claim credit for taxes paid to cities or foreign 
countries. See Revenue Ruling 02-013 for information on taxes 
paid to the District of Columbia. 

The credit is allowed ONLY if the other state does not allow a 
nonresident credit against the income taxes imposed by that state for 
taxes paid or payable to the state of resident. The credit is limited to 
the amount of Louisiana income tax that would have been imposed 
if the income earned in the other state had been earned in Louisiana. 

The credit is equal to the lesser of the amount of taxes paid to the 
other state or the amount determined by multiplying the taxpayer’s 
Louisiana income tax liability by a fraction, the numerator of which 
is the taxpayer’s Louisiana taxable income attributable to the other 
state to which net income taxes were paid and the denominator of 
which is total Louisiana taxable income. See Revenue Information 
Bulletin 16-052 for information on qualifying states. A copy of the 
returns filed with the other states must be attached to your return 
along with Form R-10606, Supplemental Worksheet for Credit for 
Taxes Paid to Other States. If the taxes were paid on your behalf 
on a composite return to another state, copies of the return for the 
other state and your Schedule K-1 must be attached to the return. 

Line 9 – Other Nonrefundable Priority 1 Income Tax Credits
Enter the amount from Schedule NRC-P1, Line 7. 

Line 10 – Total Income Tax after Priority 1 Credits
Subtract Lines 8 and 9 from Line 7.

Line 11 – Refundable Priority 2 Credits 
Enter the amount from Schedule RC-P2, Line 9. 

Line 12 – Tax Liability After Priority 2 Credits
If Line 10 is greater than Line 11, subtract Line 11 from Line 10. 
Otherwise, enter zero "0".

Worksheet 1 - Calculation of Income Tax

1 Louisiana Taxable Income – Enter the amount of taxable income from 
Line 6. $ TAX

2
First bracket: If Line 1 is greater than $10,000, enter $10,000. If Line 1 is 
less than $10,000, enter the amount from Line 1. Multiply the balance by 
1.85% rounding to the nearest cent, and enter the result in the TAX column.

$ 2 1.85% 
Rate $

3

Second Bracket: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. If the balance is zero or 
less, enter zero “0.” If the balance is greater than zero, enter the balance 
or $40,000, whichever is less. Multiply balance by 3.5% rounding to the 
nearest cent, and enter the result in the TAX column.

$ 3 3.5% 
Rate $

4
Third Bracket: Subtract $50,000 from Line 1, and enter the balance. If 
less than zero, enter zero “0.” Multiply the balance by 4.25% rounding to 
the nearest cent, and enter the result in the TAX column.

$ 4 4.25% 
Rate $

5 Total Tax: Add the amounts in the tax column on Lines 2, 3, and 4, and 
round to the nearest dollar. Enter here and on Form IT-541, Line 7. $ 5 $	 .00
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Line 13 – Overpayment After Priority 2 Credits
If Line 11 is greater than Line 10, subtract Line 10 from Line 11. 
Otherwise, enter zero "0".

Line 14 – Nonrefundable Priority 3 Credits
Enter the amount from Schedule NRC-P3, Line 10. These credits 
are limited to the tax liability calculated on Line 12.

Line 15 – Tax Liability After Priority 3 Credits
Subtract Line 14 from Line 12. If the result is less than zero, enter 
zero “0.” 

Line 16 – Overpayment After Priority 2 Credits
Enter the amount from Line 13.

Line 17 – Refundable Priority 4 Credits
Enter the amount from Schedule RC-P4, Line 6. 

Line 18 – Amount of Credit Carried Forward from 2023
Enter the amount of any credit carried forward from 2023. This 
amount is shown on your 2023 Form IT-541, Line 24.

Line 19 – For Nonresident Filers Only – Amount Paid on Your 
Behalf by a Composite Partnership Filing
Enter the amount of any payment made on your behalf by a 
composite partnership filing. Enter the name of the partnership on 
the line provided on the return. If more than one partnership made 
a payment on your behalf, attach a schedule labeled with your 
name and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), and list 
each partnership and payment made.

Line 20 – Amount of Louisiana Tax Withheld for 2024
Enter the amount of Louisiana income tax withheld in 2024. You 
must attach copies of all W-2 and 1099 forms that indicate tax was 
withheld. 

Line 21 – Amount of Estimated Payments for 2024 and 
Amount of Extension Payment
Enter the total amount of estimated payments made for the 2024 
tax year and the amount of extension payment from Schedule D, 
Line 6. 

Line 22 – Total Refundable Tax Credits and Payments
Add Lines 16 through 21.

Line 23 – Overpayment
If Line 22 is greater than Line 15, subtract Line 15 from Line 22. If 
Line 22 is equal to Line 15, enter a zero "0" on Lines 23 through 30. 
If Line 22 is less than Line 15, enter a zero "0" on Lines 23 through 
25 and go to Line 26.

Line 24 – Amount to be Credited to 2025
Enter the amount of available overpayment shown on Line 23 that 
you wish to credit to 2025.

Line 25 – Amount to be Refunded
Subtract Line 24 from Line 23. This amount is to be refunded. 

Line 26 – Amount Owed
If Line 15 is greater than Line 22, subtract Line 22 from Line 15. 

Line 27 – Interest 
Interest is charged on all tax amounts not paid by the due date. 
Enter the amount from the Interest Calculation Worksheet, Line 5. 

Line 28 – Delinquent Filing Penalty
If you fail to file your tax return by the extended due date on or before 
November 15, 2025, for calendar year filers or on or before your 
fiscal year extended due date, you may be charged a delinquent 
filing penalty. Enter the amount from the Delinquent Filing Penalty 
Calculation Worksheet, Line 3. 

Line 29 – Delinquent Payment Penalty
If you fail to pay the tax due by the due date on or before May 
15, 2025, for calendar year filers, you may be charged delinquent 
payment penalty. Enter the amount from the Delinquent Payment 
Penalty Calculation Worksheet, Line 7. 

Line 30 – Total Amount Due 
Add Lines 26 through 29.

Signature on Return
In order to be considered complete and to meet the requirements 
of the Louisiana Income Tax Law, the return must be signed by 
the individual or authorized officer of the organization receiving or 
having custody or control and management of the income of the 
estate or trust. If two or more individuals act jointly as fiduciaries, 
any one of them may sign the return.

Paid Preparer Instructions – If your return was prepared by a 
paid preparer, that person must also sign in the appropriate space, 
complete the information in the “Paid Preparer Use Only” box, 
and enter his or her identification number in the space provided 
under the box. If the paid preparer has a Preparer Tax Identification 
Number (PTIN), the PTIN must be entered in the space provided 
under the box; otherwise, enter the FEIN or LDR account number. 
If the paid preparer represents a firm, the firm’s FEIN must be 
entered in the “Paid Preparer Use Only” box. The failure of a paid 
preparer to sign or provide an identification number will result in the 
assessment of the unidentified preparer penalty on the preparer. 
The penalty of $50 is for each occurrence of failing to sign or failing 
to provide an identification number.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE A - Computation of Louisiana Taxable Income before Income Distribution Deduction

Use Schedule A when reporting income of nonresident estates 
and trusts that earn income from Louisiana sources. La. R.S. 
47:300.3(2) provides that income items of nonresident estates and 
trusts are subject to allocation or apportionment as determined by 
La. R.S. 47:241 through 47:247.

Line 1 – Federal Taxable Income before the Exemption and 
Distribution Deduction
Nonresident bankruptcy estates enter the taxable income amount 
reported on Line 15 of the Federal Form 1040 that is an attachment 
to the Federal Form 1041. Nonresident Electing Small Business 
Trusts (ESBT) enter the combined amount of the taxable income of 
the S portion of the ESBT and the amounts reported for the non-S 
portion on Line 18, Line 21, and Line 23 of Federal Form 1041. All 
other nonresident trusts and nonresident estates enter the sum of 
the amounts reported on Line 18, Line 21, and Line 23 of Federal 
Form 1041. 

Line 2 – Net Income Taxes Paid to any State or Political or 
Municipal Subdivision
Enter the amount of net income taxes paid to any state or political 
or municipal subdivision deducted on Federal Form 1041.

Line 3 – Donation to School Tuition Organization Credit or 
Donation to Qualified Foster Care Charitable Organization Credit 
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:6301(A)(1)(a) provides for a prohibition 
on double state benefits for a donation to a school tuition organization 
(STO). If you claimed the credit for a donation to a STO on IT-541, 
Schedule NRC-P3, you must add back certain deductions taken at 
the federal level otherwise deductible for state income tax purposes 
if the corporation’s federal deductions for charitable contributions 
allowed by Internal Revenue Code Section 170 included a deduction 
for the donation made by the corporation to the STO. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 18-024 for more information.

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:6042(A)(1)(c) provides for a prohibition 
on double state benefits for a donation to a qualified foster care 
organization. If you claimed the credit for a donation to a qualified 
foster care organization on IT-541, Schedule NRC-P3, you must 
add back certain deductions taken at the federal level otherwise 
deductible for state income tax purposes if the corporation’s federal 
deductions for charitable contributions allowed by Internal Revenue 
Code Section 170 included a deduction for the donation made by 
the corporation to the qualified foster care organization. See LAC 
61:I.1925 for more information.

The addition required to be made on Line 3 is the amount of the 
charitable contribution made to the STO and the qualified foster 
care organization claimed on the fiduciary's federal return. The 
addition is limited to the amount of the credit claimed on the return 
for the corresponding donation.

Line 4 – Add Back of Pass - Through Entity Loss
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:300.7(C)(2)(d)(i) provides for an 
exclusion for an estate or trust who is a shareholder, member, or 
partner of an entity that made the pass-through entity tax election 
under La. R.S. 47:287.732.2. This election allows S corporations, 
and other entities taxed as partnerships for federal income tax 
purposes, to pay Louisiana income tax at the entity level. The entity 
must have received LDR’s approval of the election. The add-back 
amount is the Louisiana net operating loss that was reported at the 
entity level for this tax year that is included on Federal Form 1041. 
You must also include any net operating loss carried forward from a 
tax year in which the election was made and utilized in this tax year. 

This amount should be included in the amount on Line 1. Do not 
include income not taxed at the entity level such as interest and 
dividend income. See Revenue Information Bulletin 23-022 and 
LAC 61:I.1001 for more information. You must attach a copy of 
Form R-6981, Louisiana Statement of Owner’s Share of Entity 
Level Tax Items, and a pro forma Federal Form 1041 that excludes 
any income, deductions or other tax items that were included in 
the calculation of Louisiana net income on the entity’s Louisiana 
Form CIFT-620. The amount that you can exclude is the difference 
in federal taxable income calculated on your Federal Form 1041 
and the pro forma Federal Form 1041. If the difference is a loss, 
the loss must be added to your federal taxable income on this line.

Line 5A – Income Exempt from Taxation
Enter the amount of any income that is exempt from taxation 
under the laws of Louisiana or that is prohibited from taxation by 
the Constitution or laws of the United States. This amount must be 
subtracted from federal taxable income. An example of such income 
would be interest on U.S. government obligations. A schedule of the 
items on this line must be supplied.

Line 5B – Depletion in Excess of Federal Depletion
Enter the amount of Louisiana depletion in excess of federal 
depletion. In computing net income in the case of oil and gas wells, 
a deduction is allowed for cost depletion or percentage depletion, 
whichever is greater. Percentage depletion is calculated as 22 
percent of gross income from the property during the taxable year, 
excluding from such gross income an amount equal to any rents 
and royalties paid or incurred by the taxpayer from the property. 
Percentage depletion cannot exceed 50 percent of the net income 
computed without allowance for depletion from the property. In 
determining net income from the property, federal income tax is 
considered an expense.

Line 5C – S Bank Exclusion
Enter the amount of the S Bank shareholder exclusion that the 
estate or trust can claim. The amount of the exclusion is considered 
nontaxable income. La. R.S. 47:297.3(B)(5) provides that “S Bank 
nontaxable income” means (A) the portion of the income reported by 
an S Bank on Federal Form 1120S Schedule K-1 or (B) the portion 
of the income reported by an S Bank on an equivalent document, 
which is attributable to the net earnings used to compute the S 
Bank’s share's tax as provided in La. R.S. 47:1967. Attach a copy 
of Schedule K-1 as documentation for the amount excluded. The 
exclusion is only allowed if the entity did not make the pass-through 
entity tax election under La. R.S. 47:287.732.2.

Line 5D – Pass - Through Entity Exclusion 
Louisiana Revised Statute 47:300.7(C)(2)(d)(i) provides for an 
exclusion for an estate or trust who is a shareholder, member, or 
partner of an entity that made the pass-through entity tax election 
under La. R.S. 47:287.732.2. This election allows S corporations, and 
other entities taxed as partnerships for federal income tax purposes, 
to pay Louisiana income tax at the entity level. The entity must have 
received LDR’s approval of the election. The excluded amount is the 
income that was taxed at the entity level that is included on Federal 
Form 1041. This amount should be included in the amount on Line 1. 
Do not include income not taxed at the entity level such as interest 
and dividend income. See Revenue Information Bulletin 23-022 and 
LAC 61:I.1001 for more information. You must attach a copy of Form 
R-6981, Louisiana Statement of Owner’s Share of Entity Level Tax 
Items, and a pro forma Federal Form 1041 that excludes any income, 
deductions or other tax items that were included in the calculation 
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of Louisiana net income on the entity’s Louisiana Form CIFT-620. 
The amount that you can exclude is the difference in federal taxable 
income calculated on your Federal Form 1041 and the pro forma 
Federal Form 1041. If the difference is a loss, the loss must be 
added to your federal taxable income on Line 4.

Line 5E – Other Subtractions
On a separate schedule, list the source and amount of other 
subtractions allowed from federal net income. 

•	 For the deduction for employment of certain qualified disabled 
individuals (La. R.S. 47:297.13), Form R-10605, Application 
for Deduction for Employment of Certain Qualified Disabled 
Individuals, must be attached to your return. 

•	 Exclusion for compensation for disaster services – Include 
the amount of income excluded as compensation for 
disaster services. The exclusion is for income received by a 
nonresident business for performing disaster or emergency-
related work within the state during a declared emergency 
period beginning January 1, 2018. The exclusion applies only 
for income received in exchange for disaster or emergency-
related work related to critical infrastructure that is performed 
during the declared disaster period, which begins within 10 
days of the first day of the declaration or proclamation made 
by either the governor, the president, or appropriate local 
government official and ends 60 days after its conclusion, 
unless a longer period is subsequently authorized. Requests 
for written notice concerning emergency-related services are 
posted as Revenue Information Bulletins on LDR’s website. 
(La. R.S. 47:53.5) 

Line 5F – Total Subtractions
Add Lines 5A through 5E.

Line 6 – Modified Federal Taxable Income before Distribution 
Deduction
Add Lines 1, 2, 3, and 4, subtract the amount on Line 5F, and enter 
the result. 

Modified Federal Taxable Income Allocated or Apportioned to 
Louisiana
In accordance with La. R.S. 47:300.3(2), Louisiana taxable income 
of a nonresident estate or trust for a taxable year is computed by 
applying the allocation and apportionment provisions of La. R.S. 
47:241 through 47:247 to the estate’s or trust’s federal taxable 
income for the same year modified by the provisions of La. R.S. 
47:300.7(C).

In order to determine Louisiana taxable income, it is necessary 
to separate all items of income into two general classes, namely 
those items that can be allocated directly to the state in which they 
are earned, and those items of income that arise from business 
partly within and without Louisiana. Louisiana’s share of allocable 
items can be determined by direct allocation. In the case of net 
income from business partly within and partly without the state, a 
percentage of the net income must be apportioned to Louisiana on 
the basis of an apportionment percentage.

If the Louisiana portion is entirely separable from the remainder and 
the use of the apportionment method would produce a manifestly 
unfair result, a separate accounting may be made for Louisiana 
business and the total net income. Prior written permission from the 
Secretary must be secured to report by the separate accounting 
method.

In computing net allocable income, all expenses, losses, and other 
deductions, except federal income taxes that are directly attributable 
to such income and a ratable portion of allowable deductions, 
except federal income taxes that are not directly attributable to any 
class of income should be deducted from gross allocable income.

Line 7A – Net Rents and Royalties
Enter the total amount of net rents and royalties earned by the 
estate or trust. 

Line 7B – Royalties from the Use of Patents, Trademarks, etc. 
Enter the total amount of royalties from the use of patents, 
trademarks, etc.

Line 7C – Income from Estates, Trust, and Partnerships
Enter the total amount of income derived from estates, trusts, and 
partnerships. 

Line 7D – Income from Construction, Repair, Etc.
Enter the total amount of income derived from construction, repair, 
or other similar services. 

Line 7E – Other Allocable Income
Enter any other net allocable income. Other items of income such 
as interest income, dividends on corporate stock, profits from sales 
and exchanges of capital assets, and salaries, wages, or other 
compensations received by a nonresident individual for personal 
services are considered allocable under the provisions of La. R.S. 
47:243. 

Line 7F – Total Allocable Income from All Sources
Add Lines 7A through 7E.

Line 8 – Net Income Subject to Apportionment
Subtract Line 7F from Line 6.

Line 9 – Net Income Apportioned to Louisiana 

Multiply Line 8 by the percentage from Schedule B, Line 7.

Line 10A – Net Rents and Royalties
Enter the amount of Louisiana net rents and royalties. Rents and 
royalties from immovable or corporeal movable property must be 
allocated to the state where the property is located at the time the 
income is derived. 

Line 10B – Royalties from the Use of Patents, Trademarks, etc. 
Enter the amount of Louisiana royalties from the use of patents, 
trademarks, etc. Royalties or similar revenue from the use of 
patents, trademarks, copyrights, secret processes, and other 
similar intangible rights must be allocated to the states in which 
such rights are used by the licensee. Please attach a schedule 
showing your computation.

Line 10C – Income from Estates, Trusts, and Partnerships
Enter the total amount of Louisiana income derived from estates, 
trusts, and partnerships. Estates, trusts, and partnerships having 
a corporation as a member or beneficiary must allocate and 
apportion their income within and without the state in accordance 
with the processes and formulas prescribed for corporations, and 
the share of any corporate member or beneficiary in the net income 
from sources in this state, so computed, must be allocated to this 
state in the return of the member or beneficiary.
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Line 10D – Income from Construction, Repair, Etc.
Enter the amount of Louisiana income derived from construction, 
repair, or other similar services. Income from construction, repair, 
or other similar services must be allocated to the state in which the 
service is performed. The phrase “other similar services” means 
any work that has as its purpose the improvement of immovable 
property belonging to a person other than the taxpayer where 
a substantial portion of the work is performed at the location of 
such property, whether or not such services actually result in 
improvements to the property.

Line 10E – Other Allocable Income
Enter any other net Louisiana allocable income. Other items of 
allocable income such as interest income, dividends on corporate 
stock, and salaries, wages, or other compensations received by 
a nonresident individual for personal services are considered 
allocable under the provisions of La. R.S. 47:243. Please attach a 
schedule of your computations.

Profits from sales and exchanges of capital assets consisting of 
immovable or corporeal movable property are allocated to the state 
where such property is located at the time the income is derived. 
Profits from sales or exchanges not made in the regular course 
of business, of property, other than capital assets consisting of 
incorporeal property or rights, are allocated to the state where 
such property is located at the time of the sale. A mineral lease, 
royalty interest, oil payment, or other mineral interest is considered 
to be Louisiana income if the property creating the mineral interest 
is located in Louisiana. Other profits from sales and exchanges 
of capital assets consisting of incorporeal property or rights is 
allocated to the state in which the securities or credits producing 
such income have their situs, which is the business situs of such 
securities or credits, if they have been so used in connection with 
the taxpayer’s business as to acquire a business situs, or, in the 
absence of such a business situs, the legal domicile of the taxpayer. 
Please attach a schedule showing your computations.

Interest on customers’ notes and accounts, except when such 
interest is from the primary business of making loans, must be 
allocated by reference to the transaction from which the receivable 
arose (to the state where delivery was made in the case of sales 
of merchandise; where services were performed in the case of 
charges for services, etc.). Interest on customers’ accounts when 
the primary business is making loans is not allocable income.

Other interest and dividends must be allocated to the state in which 
the securities or credits producing such income have their situs, 
which is the business situs of such securities or credits, if they 
have been so used in connection with the taxpayer’s business as 
to acquire a business situs, or, in the absence of such a business 
situs, the legal commercial domicile of the taxpayer. 

10F – Total Allocable Income from Louisiana
Add Lines 10A through 10E.

Line 11 – Modified Federal Taxable Income Allocated and 
Apportioned to Louisiana
Add Lines 9 and 10F.

Line 12 – Federal Itemized Deductions Attributable to Louisiana
Nonbusiness deductions are allowable to the extent that they are 
attributable to Louisiana. In particular, nonbusiness interest shall 
be attributed to Louisiana to the extent paid to persons or firms 
domiciled in this state and nonbusiness charitable contributions 
shall be attributed to Louisiana to the extent that they are made to 
Louisiana organizations. If a contribution is made to an organization 
that is present within and without Louisiana, the contributions shall 
be attributed to Louisiana if made to a Louisiana chapter or branch 
of the organization.

Line 13 – Louisiana Taxable Income Before Income Distribution 
Deduction
Subtract Line 12 from Line 11. Enter the result here and Form IT-
541, Line 4. Also, check the box on Line 4 indicating Schedule A 
was used. 
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SCHEDULE B – Computation of Apportionment Percent 

Computation of Apportionment Percent
Your principal type of business determines which factors apply in 
the calculation of your Louisiana apportionment percent. For Air 
Transportation, use factors (1) and (3); for Pipeline Transportation, 
use factors (1), (2), and (3); for Other Transportation, use factors (1) 
and (3); for Service Enterprises in which the use of property is not a 
material income producing factor, use factors (1) and (2); otherwise, 
use factors (1), (2), and (3); for Loan Business, use factors (2) and 
(4); for Merchandising and Manufacturing, use factors (1), (2), (3), 
and (5); and for Other Businesses, use factors (1), (2), and (3). 
Calculate your apportionment percent using Schedule B. Mark 
the box on each Line if the respective ratio is not considered as 
described below.

1.	 The Sales and Charges for Services Factor – The Louisiana 
sales factor shall include all sales made in the regular course 
of business where the goods, merchandise, or property is 
received in this state by the purchaser. In the case of delivery by 
common carrier or by other means of transportation, including 
transportation by the purchaser, the place where the goods are 
ultimately received after all transportation is completed shall be 
considered as the place at which the goods are received by the 
purchaser. The Louisiana factor shall also include all charges 
for services performed in Louisiana.

	 The sales factor for income from air transportation would be 
the ratio of the gross receipts derived from passenger journeys 
and cargo shipments originated in Louisiana and any other 
items of apportionable income or receipts derived entirely from 
Louisiana sources to total gross apportionable income of the 
taxpayer. 

	 Mark the box on Line 1D if the sales factor is not considered. 

2.	 The Salaries and Wages Factor – There shall be included in 
the Louisiana factor the total salaries, wages, and other personal 
service compensation paid during the taxable year for services 
rendered in Louisiana in connection with the production of 
apportionable income. Mark the box on Line 2 if the wage factor 
is not considered. 

3.	 The Property Factor – The Louisiana factor shall be the 
average of the value of the taxpayer’s real property and tangible 
personal property used in the production of apportionable 
income within this state at the beginning of the taxable year 
and at the end of the taxable year. Mark the box on Line 3 if 
the property factor is not considered. For further information 
concerning the apportionment factors, refer to La. R.S. 47:245.

4.	 Loan Factor – In the case of a loan business, the Louisiana 
factor shall be the amount of loans made in this state during the 
period for which the return is filed. Mark the box on Line 4 if the 
loan factor is not considered. For further information concerning 
the apportionment factors, refer to La. R.S. 47:245.

5.	 Additional Sales Factor – Taxpayers whose net apportionable 
income is derived primarily from the business of manufacturing 
or merchandising (manufacturing, producing, and/or selling 
tangible personal property) are required to use a fourth ratio. 
This is the ratio of net sales made in the regular course of 
business and other gross apportionable income attributable to 
this state to the total net sales made in the regular course of 
business and other gross apportionable income of the taxpayer. 
These sales are the same as those reported on Schedule B, 
Line 1D. Mark the box on Line 5 if the additional sales factor is 
not considered.

This provision does not apply to the following:

•	 Any taxpayer subject to the tax imposed pursuant to Chapter 
8 of Subtitle II of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes 
(Tobacco Tax) 

•	 Any taxpayer whose income is primarily derived from the 
production or sale of unrefined oil and gas.

6.	 Total Percentages – Add the percentages under Column 3 on 
Lines 1D, 2, 3, 4, and 5. 

7.	 Average of Percents – Divide Line 6 by the number of factors 
used. 

SCHEDULE C – Distributive Shares of Beneficiaries

Enter the name and social security number, or FEIN, of each beneficiary and his distributive share of the estate or trust income allocated 
to the State of Louisiana. Each beneficiary’s distributive share is deemed to apply to taxable and nontaxable income and to income from 
sources within, as well as from sources outside the state. If additional space is needed, attach a separate schedule. Enter the total on 
Form IT-541, Line 5.

SCHEDULE D - Summary of Estimated Tax Payments and Extension Payment

Provide information regarding the estimated tax payments and extension payment that you made for the 2024 tax year. 
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GENERAL INFORMATION ON ALL CREDITS
If a schedule is required in the instructions below, you must attach 
a separate schedule for each credit claimed. The schedule should 
clearly identify the credit, the Fiduciary's name, and LDR account 
number. If documentation is required, you must submit the docu-
mentation with your return. For faster processing, you can upload 
all required information when you file your return electronically. 
Revenue Information Bulletins (RIB) are posted on www.revenue.
louisiana.gov/LawsAndPolicies under Policy Documents. 

A shareholder, partner, or member of an S corporation or other 
pass-through entity must attach a copy of the Schedule K-1 and 
other documentation required to substantiate their share of any 
credit passed down from the entity.

An S corporation or other pass-through entity must provide their 
partners or members a Schedule K-1 and other documentation 
required to substantiate their share of any credit that was passed 
down from the entity.

Note: If you are claiming a credit that is recorded in the Tax 
Credit Registry, you must attach a copy of Form R-6135, Credit 
Registration Form, to the return and list the State Certification 
Number in the appropriate space on the return. See Revenue 
Information Bulletin 14-005 for information on the Tax Credit 
Registry and Revenue Information Bulletin 17-008 for claiming a 
purchased transferable tax credit. 

PASS-THROUGH ENTITY TAX ELECTION 
Credits earned in the year the pass-through entity tax election was 
made or after the election was made are tax items of the entity, 
and the credit and its future carryforward must be reported on 
the entity’s return. If the pass-through entity made the election for 
2024, any credits earned for 2024 cannot be used on the fiduciary 
income tax return of any shareholder, member, or partner. Tax 
credits earned in tax years prior to the election that have previously 
passed through to the owners are tax items of the owners, and any 
credit carryforward remaining can only be used on the fiduciary 
income tax return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 19-019 and 
LAC 61:l.1001(C)(6) for more information. 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 1 CREDITS, SCHEDULE NRC-P1
NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 1 CREDITS, LINES 1 THROUGH 6

Below is a list of nonrefundable credits available for Louisiana 
income tax. Enter the credit description, identifying code, and 
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 
1 through 6. NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the 
table of Schedule NRC-P1. The codes listed here are not 
interchangeable with codes listed on other schedules.

Example:

Credit Description	 Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Premium Tax	 1 0 0 5 0 0 00.
LINE 7 – OTHER NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 1 CREDITS
Add Lines 1 through 6 and enter the result here and on Form 
IT-541, Line 9.

CODE

100 -	 Premium Tax – La. R.S. 47:227 provides a credit for 
premium taxes paid during the preceding 12 months by an 
insurance company authorized to do business in Louisiana. 
A copy of the premium tax return and cancelled checks in 
payment of the tax must be attached to the return. 

120 -	 Bone Marrow – La. R.S. 47:287.758 provides a credit 
to employers authorized to do business in the state who 
incur bone marrow donor expense by developing a bone 
marrow donation program, educating employees related to 
bone marrow donations, making payments to a health care 
provider for determining tissue types of potential donors, 
and paying wages to an employee for time related to tissue 
typing and bone marrow donation. If the wage expense 

is used to obtain the credit, it cannot be deducted as an 
expense for income tax purposes. The credit can only be 
passed through to taxpayers who are shareholders or 
members of certain legal entities. The amount of the credit 
is equal to 18 percent of the bone marrow donor expense 
paid or incurred by the employer during the tax year.

150 -	 Qualified Playgrounds – La. R.S. 47:6008 provides a 
credit for donations to assist qualified playgrounds. The 
credit is the lesser of $720 or 36 percent of the value of 
the cash, equipment, goods, or services donated. For more 
information on this credit, see Revenue Ruling 02-020 
posted on LDR’s website. 

155 -	 Debt Issuance – La. R.S. 47:6017 provides a credit for 
72 percent of the filing fee paid to the Louisiana State 
Bond Commission, which is incurred by an economic 
development corporation in the preparation and issuance of 
bonds.

170 -	 Donations to Public Schools – La. R.S. 47:6013 provides 
a credit for qualified donations made to a public school. 
The credit is equal to 28 percent of the appraised value 
of a qualified donation of property made to a public 
school. “Public school” is defined as a public elementary 
or secondary school. “Qualified donation” is defined as a 
donation of immovable property purchased or otherwise 
acquired by a corporation and donated to a public school 
immediately adjacent or contiguous to such property. The 
credit can only be passed through to taxpayers who are 
shareholders or members of certain legal entities. 

199 -	 Other – Reserved for future credits

CODE

http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsAndPolicies
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/LawsAndPolicies
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 3 CREDITS, SCHEDULE NRC-P3
NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 3 CREDITS, LINES 1 THROUGH 6
Below is a list of nonrefundable credits available for Louisiana 
income tax. Enter the credit description, identifying code, and 
the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 
1 through 6. NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the 
table of Schedule NRC-P3. The codes listed here are not 
interchangeable with other codes listed in this booklet.

Example:

Credit Description	 Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Inventory Tax Credit
Carried Forward	

5 0 0 5 0 0 00.

LINES 7 THROUGH 9 – Complete Lines 7 through 9 ONLY if 
a transferable credit is claimed (credit codes 251 through 262). 
For Lines 7A, 8A, and 9A, enter the LDR State Certification 
number from Form R-6135, if applicable. For more information, 
see Revenue Information Bulletin 17-008 regarding claiming a 
purchased transferable tax credit.

LINE 10 – NONREFUNDABLE PRIORITY 3 CREDITS
Add Lines 1 through 9 and enter the result here and on Form 
IT-541, Line 14.

CODE
224 -	 New Jobs Credit – This credit is no longer available 

because Act 403 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session 
ended the credit effective December 31, 2019. If you have 
an eligible carryover amount, use this code to utilize the 
carryover amount for any years you have remaining in your 
five (5) year carryover period. 

228 -	 Eligible Re-Entrants – This credit is no longer available 
because Act 403 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session 
ended the credit effective December 31, 2019. If you have 
an eligible carryover amount, use this code to utilize the 
carryover amount for any years you have remaining in your 
five (5) year carryover period.

236 -	 Apprenticeship (2007) – This credit was repealed by Act 
357 of the 2015 Regular Legislative Session. If you have 
an eligible carryover amount, use this code to utilize the 
carryover amount for any years you have remaining in your 
ten (10) year carryover period. Credits earned beginning with 
the 2022 tax year should be claimed using credit code 463.

251 -	 Motion Picture Investment – La. R.S. 47:6007(C)(1) 
provides a credit for taxpayers domiciled in Louisiana who 
invest in a state-certified motion picture production. Taxpayers 
taking this credit may attach Form R-10611, Motion Picture 
Investment Tax Credit Schedule, as documentation for this 
credit. You must certify certain requirements in order to 
use the credit. See RIB 23-023 for more information and 
attach R-90150, Taxpayer Certification of Compliance of 
Tax Obligations for the Motion Picture Production Credit, to 
your return. For information on the cap, see www.revenue.
louisiana.gov/CreditCaps. This credit can only be claimed 
on Lines 7 through 9.

252 -	 Research and Development – La. R.S. 47:6015 provides 
a credit for any taxpayer who earned the credit based on 
participation in the Small Business Technology Transfer or 
the Small Business Innovation Research Grant program. 
This credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 9. 

253 -	 Historic Structures – La. R.S. 47:6019 provides a 
credit if the taxpayer incurs certain expenses during the 
rehabilitation of a historic structure located in either a 
downtown development or a cultural district, or a historic 
structure contributing to the National Register of Historic 
Places. Refer to Revenue Information Bulletin 14-007 and 
14-007A on LDR’s website. This credit can only be claimed 
on Lines 7 through 9.

257 -	 Capital Company – La. R.S. 51:1924 provides a credit for 
the investment in a certified Louisiana capital company. The 
credit must be approved by the Commissioner of the Office 
of Financial Institutions. A copy of the certification from 
the Office of Financial Institutions must be attached to the 
return. This credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 9.

258 -	 LA Community Development Financial Institution (LCDFI) 
– La. R.S. 51:3085 et seq. provides a credit for certain 
investments in an LCDFI to encourage the expansion of 
businesses in economically distressed areas. The Louisiana 
Office of Financial Institutions administers this program. This 
credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 9.

261 -	 Motion Picture Infrastructure – La. R.S. 47:6007(C)
(2) provides a credit for an approved state-certified 
infrastructure project for a film, video, television, or digital 
production or post-production facility. Taxpayers must apply 
to the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to 
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit 
must be attached to the return. You must certify certain 
requirements in order to use the credit. See RIB 23-023 
for more information and attach Form R-90150, Taxpayer 
Certification of Compliance of Tax Obligations for the Motion 
Picture Production Credit, to your return. For information on 
the cap, see www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps. This 
credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 9.

262 -	 Angel Investor – La. R.S. 47:6020 provides a credit to 
encourage third party investment of taxpayers who make 
qualified investments to certified Louisiana entrepreneurial 
businesses on or after January 1, 2011. To earn the Angel 
Investor Tax Credit, taxpayers must file an application with 
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 12-009 on LDR’s website. This 
credit can only be claimed on Lines 7 through 9.

299 -	 Other – Reserved for future credits

305 -	 Tax Equalization – La. R.S. 47:3201 et seq. provides a 
credit for tax equalization for certain businesses located 
in Louisiana. The taxpayer must enter into a contract with 
the Louisiana Department of Economic Development, and 
a copy of the contract showing the credit granted must be 
attached to the return.

310 -	 Manufacturing Establishments – La. R.S. 47:4301 et seq. 
provides a credit to certain manufacturing establishments that 
have entered into a contract with the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development. A copy of the contract showing 
the credit granted must be attached to the return.

399 -	 Other – Reserved for future credits

412 -	 Refunds by Utilities – La. R.S. 47: 287.664 provides a 
credit for certain court ordered refunds made by utilities to 
its customers.

CODE

http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps
http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/CreditCaps
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CODE CODE

424 -	 Donation to School Tuition Organization – La. 
R.S. 47:6301 provides a credit for donations made to 
a school tuition organization that provides scholarships 
to qualified students to attend a qualified school. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin 18-024 for more information. 
Form R-10604, Receipt for Donations to School Tuition 
Organization Tax Credit, must be attached to your return. 
Per La. R.S. 47:1624(F), the accrual of interest shall be 
suspended during any period of time that a delay in the 
issuance of a refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s failure 
to provide information or documentation required by statute. 

454 -	 QMC Music Job Creation Credit – La. R.S. 47:6023 
provides a credit against corporate income tax to a Qualifying 
Music Company (QMC) that is a music publisher, sound 
recording studio, booking agent, or artist management 
that is engaged directly or indirectly in the production, 
distribution, and promotion of music. Taxpayers must apply 
to the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to 
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit 
must be attached to the return. The credit is limited to 50 
percent of the taxpayer’s tax liability.

457 -	 Neighborhood Assistance – La. R.S. 47:35 and 47:287.753 
provide a credit for an entity engaged in the activities of 
providing neighborhood assistance, job training, education 
for individuals, community services, or crime prevention in 
Louisiana. The credit is for up to 50 percent of the amount 
contributed and cannot exceed $180,000 annually. 

458 - 	Research and Development – La. R.S. 47:6015(K) 
provides a credit for any taxpayer who claims a federal 
income tax credit under 26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing 
research activities or for a taxpayer who employs fewer than 
50 employees and who meets the requirements of La. R.S. 
47:6015(B)(3)(i). Beginning with the 2018 tax year, credits 
earned based upon participation in the Small Business 
Technology Transfer program or the Small Business 
Innovative Research Grant program should be claimed 
using credit code 252. The credit is obtained through the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development, and 
documentation from that agency must be attached to the 
return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 15-019 on LDR’s 
website.

459 -	 Ports of Louisiana Import Export Cargo – La. R.S. 
47:6036(I) provides a credit to encourage the use of state 
port facilities in Louisiana. The credit is based on the 
number of tons of qualified cargo imported and exported 
from or to manufacturing, fabrication, assembly, distribution, 
processing, or warehousing facilities located in the state. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development to receive certification. A copy of 
the certification of the credit must be attached to the return. 

460 -	 LA Import – La. R.S. 47:6036.1 provides a credit to 
encourage the utilization of Louisiana public port facilities 
for cargo imports and the development of new port 
infrastructure facilities for the manufacturing, distribution, 
and warehousing of imported goods. Taxpayers must apply 
to the Louisiana Department of Economic Development to 
receive certification. A copy of the certification of the credit 
must be attached to the return.

461 -	 LA Work Opportunity – La. R.S. 47:287.750 provides 
a credit for a business that hires participants in the 
work release programs provided for in La. R.S. 15:711, 
1111, 1199.9, and 1199.10. The Louisiana Department of 
Public Safety or applicable sheriff must certify that the 
eligible business employed an eligible re-entrant who is 
participating in a work release program on or after January 
1, 2021, in an eligible job for 12 consecutive months. A 
copy of the certification of the credit must be attached to 
the return.

462 -	 Youth Jobs – La. R.S. 47:6028 provides a credit for a 
business that hires one or more eligible youth on or after 
July 1, 2021. To earn the credit, the eligible youth must work 
at least three (3) consecutive months in a full-time or part-
time position at the business. The credit is equal to $1,250 
for each eligible youth hired in a full-time position or $750 for 
each eligible youth hired in a part-time position. Taxpayers 
must apply to the Department to receive certification. 
See LAC 61:I.1921 for more information and attach Form 
R- 90004, Louisiana Youth Jobs Tax Credit Employer 
Application to your return. Per La. R.S. 47:1624(F), the 
accrual of interest shall be suspended during any period 
of time that a delay in the issuance of a refund is 
attributable to the taxpayer’s failure to provide information 
or documentation required by LAC 61:I.1921.

463 -	 Apprenticeship (2022) – La. R.S. 47:6033 provides a 
credit to employers for $1.25 for each hour of employment 
of an eligible apprentice, limited to $1,250 for each eligible 
apprentice. An eligible apprentice is a person who has 
entered into a written apprentice agreement with an employer 
or an association of employers pursuant to a registered 
apprenticeship program or who is enrolled in a training 
program accredited by the National Center for Construction 
Education and Research which has no less than four levels 
of training and no less than 500 hours of instruction. Use 
this code for Apprenticeship credits earned for employment 
of eligible apprentices after December 31, 2021. Attach a 
copy of Form R-90005, Apprenticeship Tax Credit Employer 
Certification and Form R-6311, Tax Incentives with Job 
Creation Components. Per La. R.S. 47:1624(F), the accrual 
of interest shall be suspended during any period of time 
that a delay in the issuance of a refund is attributable to the 
taxpayer’s failure to provide information or documentation 
required by statute LAC 61:I.1909. 

464 -	 Donation to Qualified Foster Care Charitable 
Organization – La. R.S. 47:6042 provides a credit for 
donations made to a qualifying foster care charitable 
organization that provides services to a child in a foster 
care placement program established by the Department of 
Children and Family Services. The credit is for the amount of 
the donation used to provide the service, limited to $50,000. 
Form R-68009, Receipt for Donations to Qualifying Foster 
Care Charitable Organization Credit, must be attached to 
your return. Per La. R.S. 47:1624(F), the accrual of interest 
shall be suspended during any period of time that a delay 
in the issuance of a refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s 
failure to provide information or documentation required by 
LAC 61:l.1925. 
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500 -	 Inventory Tax Credit Carried Forward and ITEP – La. 
R.S. 47:6006 allows a credit against income tax for ad 
valorem taxes paid to political subdivisions in Louisiana on 
inventory held by manufacturers, distributors, or retailers. 
Manufacturers, distributors, or retailers should use this code 
for the carryforward of unused nonrefundable credits (not 
current year credit) from 2015 through 2023. Manufacturers 
who claimed the property tax exemption under the Industrial 
Tax Exemption Program (ITEP) during the same year 
the inventory taxes were paid and members of those 
manufacturers' federal consolidated groups should use 
this code for the carryforward of unused nonrefundable 
credits from 2015 through 2023. The current year credit 
must be calculated on the 2024 Form R-10610-ITE, 
Schedule of Ad Valorem Tax Credit Claimed by ITEP 
Manufacturers for Ad Valorem Tax Paid on Inventory. Form 
R-10610-ITE must be attached to the return. Per La. R.S. 
47:1624(F), the accrual of interest shall be suspended 
during any period of time that a delay in the issuance of 
a refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s failure to provide 
information or documentation required by LAC 61:l.1902. 

502 -	 Ad Valorem Natural Gas Credit Carried Forward – La. 
R.S. 47:6006 allows a credit for ad valorem taxes paid to 
political subdivisions in Louisiana on natural gas held, used, 
or consumed in providing natural gas storage services or 
operating natural gas storage facilities. Use this code for the 
carryforward of unused nonrefundable credits (not current 
year credit) from 2015 through 2023. 

504 -	 Atchafalaya Trace – La. R.S. 25:1226.4 provides a credit 
to certain heritage-based cottage industries that have 
entered into a contract with the State Board of Commerce 
and Industry. A copy of the contract must be attached to the 
return. 

506 -	 Cane River Heritage – La. R.S. 47:6026 provides a credit 
for a heritage-based cottage industry located or to be 
located in the Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. 
The taxpayer must enter into a contract with the Department 
of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, and a copy of the 
contract must be attached to the return. 

508 -	 Ports of Louisiana Investor – La. R.S. 47:6036(C) 
provides a credit to encourage investment in state 
port facilities in Louisiana. Taxpayers must apply to the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development to receive 
certification. A copy of the certification of the credit must be 
attached to the return. 

510 - Enterprise Zone – La. R.S. 51:1782 et. seq. provide a credit 
for private sector investments in certain areas which are 
designated as “Enterprise Zones”. The taxpayer must enter 
into a contract with the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development, and a copy of the contract showing the 
credit granted must be attached to the return. Per La. R.S. 
47:1624(F), the accrual of interest shall be suspended 
during any period of time that a delay in the issuance of 
a refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s failure to provide 
information or documentation required by statute.

550 -	 Recycling Credit – La. R.S. 47:6005 provides a credit for 
the purchase of certain equipment or service contracts 
related to recycling. The credit must be certified by the 
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality, and a copy 
of the certification must be attached to the return. 

599 -	 Other - Reserved for future credits

CODE CODE

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRIORITY 2 REFUNDABLE CREDITS, SCHEDULE RC-P2
REFUNDABLE PRIORITY 2 CREDITS, LINES 1 THROUGH 5
Below is a list of refundable tax credits available for Louisiana income 
tax. Enter the credit description, identifying code, and the dollar 
amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on Lines 1 through 5. See 
Revenue Information Bulletin No. 15-021 for more information.

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table of Schedule 
RC-P2. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with 
other codes listed in this booklet.

Example: 

Credit Description	  Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Milk Producers	  4 0 0 00.5 8 F
	

LINES 6 THROUGH 8 – Complete Lines 6 through 8 ONLY 
if a transferable credit is claimed (credit code 62F). For Lines 
6A, 7A, and 8A, enter the LDR State Certification number from 
Form R-6135, if applicable. For more information, see Revenue 
Information Bulletin 17-008 regarding claiming a purchased 
transferable tax credit.

LINE 9 – REFUNDABLE PRIORITY 2 CREDITS – Add Lines 1 
through 8 and enter the result here and on Form IT-541, Line 11. 

52F - 	Ad Valorem Offshore Vessels – La. R.S. 47:6006.1 
allows a refundable credit for 100 percent of the ad 
valorem taxes paid on vessels in Outer Continental Shelf 
Lands Act Waters. Copies of the tax assessment, the 
canceled check in payment of the tax, and a completed 
Form LAT 11A from the Louisiana Tax Commission must 
be attached to the return. 

54F - 	Telephone Company Property – La. R.S. 47:6014 allows 
a refundable credit for up to 40 percent of the ad valorem 
taxes paid to Louisiana political subdivisions by a telephone 
company, with respect to that company’s public service 
properties located in Louisiana. The credit may be passed 
through to individuals who are shareholders or members 
of certain legal entities. See Revenue Information Bulletin 
01-004 on LDR’s website. Copies of the tax assessment, 
the canceled check in payment of the tax, and a schedule 
stating which entity paid the tax and obtained the credit 
on the taxpayer’s behalf must be attached. Per La. R.S. 
47:1624(F), the accrual of interest shall be suspended 
during any period of time that a delay in the issuance of 
a refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s failure to provide 
information or documentation required by LAC 61.l.1905. 

CODE
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CODE CODE

55F - 	Prison Industry Enhancement – La. R.S. 47:6018 allows 
a refundable credit for 72 percent of the state sales and 
use tax paid by a taxpayer on purchases by a taxpayer 
of specialty apparel items from a private sector Prison 
Industry Enhancement (PIE) contractor. Contact LDR for 
further information regarding this credit. 

58F - 	Milk Producers – La. R.S. 47:6032 allows a refundable 
credit for a resident taxpayer engaged in the business of 
producing milk for sale. Those milk producers that have 
obtained permits under the Louisiana Administrative 
Code, Title 51 and have met the requirements of the Food 
and Drug Administration shall be certified by the Louisiana 
Department of Health to receive the credit. For more 
information see Revenue Information Bulletin 08-014 on 
LDR’s website.

59F - 	Technology Commercialization – La. R.S. 51:2351 et 
seq. allows a refundable credit for a qualifying business that 
invests in the commercialization of Louisiana technology. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development to receive certification. A copy 
of the certification of the credit must be attached to the 
return.

62F - 	Musical and Theatrical Production – La. R.S. 47:6034 
allows a refundable credit for the production expenses, 
employment of college and vocational-technical students, 
employment of residents, and for the construction, repair, 
or renovation of facilities related to the live performance 
industry. Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department 
of Economic Development to receive certification. A 
copy of the certification must be attached to the return. 
This credit can only be claimed on Lines 6 through 8. 

70F -	 Retention and Modernization – La. R.S. 51:2399.1 et 
seq. allow a refundable credit for an employer who incurs 
qualified expenditures to modernize existing operations in 
Louisiana to retain the business in the state. Taxpayers 
must apply to the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development to receive certification. A copy of the 
certification of the credit must be attached to the return. 
Per La. R.S. 47:1624(F), the accrual of interest shall 
be suspended during any period of time that a delay in 
the issuance of a refund is attributable to the taxpayer’s 
failure to provide information or documentation required 
by statute. 

73F -	 Digital Interactive Media – La. R.S. 47:6022 allows 
a refundable credit for the investment in businesses 
specializing in digital interactive media and software. 
Taxpayers must apply to the Louisiana Department of 

Economic Development to receive certification. A copy 
of the certification of the credit must be attached to the 
return. See Revenue Information Bulletin 12-017 on LDR’s 
website.

77F -	 Funeral and Burial Expense for a Pregnancy-Related 
Death – La. R.S. 47:297.22 allows a refundable credit for 
the reasonable funeral and burial expenses associated with 
the pregnancy-related death of a person. A “pregnancy-
related death” means the death of a Louisiana resident 
while pregnant, during labor and delivery, or within one 
year after childbirth from a pregnancy complication, a chain 
of events initiated by the pregnancy, or the aggravation 
of an unrelated condition by the normal effects of the 
pregnancy. The credit may be claimed by the estate of the 
deceased on the deceased person’s return or the estate’s 
return and if not, then by the individual who actually paid 
the funeral and burial expense. The credit is equal to 
the actual reasonable funeral and burial expenses paid 
or $5,000, whichever is less, and is claimed for the year 
in which the death occurred. Reasonable funeral and 
burial expenses include costs and fees associated with 
transportation of the remains, embalming or cremation 
services, caskets, plots, grave markers or headstones, 
funeral home facility and staff services, and other related 
professional services. It does not include costs and fees 
associated with flowers, vaults, or urns. A copy of the 
death certificate, a schedule listing the expenses paid, and 
copies of the receipts must be attached to the return.

79F -	 Restaurant Recycling of Oyster Shells – La. R.S. 
47:6043 allows a refundable credit for restaurants that 
donate oyster shells for use in benefitting the environment. 
The credit is equal to $1 per 50 pounds of oyster shell 
material donated or $2,000, whichever is less. To qualify, 
the oyster shells must be donated to the Oyster Shell 
Recycling Program of the Coalition to Restore Coastal 
Louisiana or any other oyster shell recycling program or 
activity designated as an approved program or activity. 
The amount of credits granted by the Department of 
Revenue is capped at $100,000 per calendar year. See 
LAC 61:I.1933 for more information and attach Form R- 
90154, Receipt for Restaurant Oyster Shell Recycling 
Credit to your return. Per La. R.S. 47:1624(F), the accrual 
of interest shall be suspended during any period of time 
that a delay in the issuance of a refund is attributable to the 
taxpayer’s failure to provide information or documentation 
required by LAC 61:I.1933. 

80F -	 Other Refundable Credit – Reserved for future credits
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRIORITY 4 REFUNDABLE CREDITS, SCHEDULE RC-P4
REFUNDABLE PRIORITY 4 CREDITS, LINES 1 THROUGH 5
Below is a list of additional refundable tax credits available for 
Louisiana income tax. Enter the credit description, identifying 
code, and the dollar amount claimed in the appropriate spaces on 
Lines 1 through 5. 

NOTE: Use only the codes referenced in the table of Schedule 
RC-P4. The codes listed here are not interchangeable with 
other codes listed in this booklet.

Example: 

Credit Description	  Code 	 Amount of Credit Claimed

Inventory Tax 	 4 0 0 00.5 0 F

LINE 6 – REFUNDABLE PRIORITY 4 CREDITS – Add Lines 1 
through 5 and enter the result here and on Form IT-541, Line 17.

CODE

50F - 	 Inventory Tax – La. R.S. 47:6006 allows a credit against 
income tax for ad valorem taxes paid to political subdivisions 
in Louisiana on inventory held by manufacturers, distributors, 
or retailers. For purposes of the limitations on refundability, 
members included in a consolidated federal tax return will 
be treated as one taxpayer. If the total amount eligible for 
the credit is less than or equal to $500,000, 100 percent 
of any excess credit is refundable, and for total eligible 
amounts above $500,000, 75 percent of any excess 
credit up to a maximum of $750,000 is refundable. For 
businesses formed or first registered to do business in 
Louisiana after April 15, 2016, if the total amount eligible 
for the credit is less than $10,000, 100 percent of any 

excess credit is refundable, and for total eligible amounts 
of $10,000 or more, 75 percent of any excess credit up to 
a maximum of $750,000 is refundable. Copies of the tax 
assessment and the canceled check in payment of the tax 
must be attached. The inventory tax credit is nonrefundable 
for taxes paid on inventory by any manufacturer who 
claimed the property tax exemption under the Industrial 
Tax Exemption program (ITEP) during the same year 
the inventory taxes were paid. You must attach Form 
R-10610, Schedule of Ad Valorem Tax Credit Claimed by 
Manufacturers, Distributors, and Retailers, to your return. 

51F - 	 Ad Valorem Natural Gas – La. R.S. 47:6006 allows a 
credit against income tax for ad valorem taxes paid to 
political subdivisions in Louisiana on natural gas held, used, 
or consumed by providing natural gas storage services 
or operating natural gas storage facilities. For purposes 
of the limitations on refundability, members included in 
a consolidated federal tax return will be treated as one 
taxpayer. If the total amount eligible for the credit is less than 
or equal to $500,000, 100 percent of any excess credit is 
refundable, and for total eligible amounts above $500,000, 75 
percent of any excess credit up to a maximum of $750,000 
is refundable. For businesses formed or first registered to do 
business in Louisiana after April 15, 2016, if the total amount 
eligible for the credit is less than $10,000, 100 percent of any 
excess credit is refundable, and for total eligible amounts of 
$10,000 or more, 75 percent of any excess credit up to a 
maximum of $750,000 is refundable. You must attach Form 
R-10610, Schedule of Ad Valorem Tax Credit Claimed by 
Manufacturers, Distributors, and Retailers, to your return. 

CODE
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X DO NOT ATTACH THIS WORKSHEET TO YOUR RETURN.

Interest and Penalty Calculation Worksheets

You will be charged interest and penalties if you do not pay all 
amounts due on or before the due date. 

1.	 A 2024 calendar year return is due on or before May 15, 2025, 
and receives an automatic six months extension to November 
15, 2025. 

2.	 Returns for fiscal years are due on or before the 15th day of the 
fifth month after the close of the taxable year and receives an 
automatic six months extension. 

3.	 If the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the return is 
due the next business day.

Important: An extension does not relieve you of your 
obligation to pay all tax amounts due by the original due date.

Interest – If your income tax is not paid by the due date, you will 
be charged interest on the unpaid tax until the balance is paid 
in full. The interest rate is variable and the 2025 interest rate is 
posted on LDR’s website on Form R-1111, Interest Rate Schedule 
- Collected on Unpaid Taxes. 

Interest Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from the due date.  
2 Daily interest rate (See Form R-1111.)  0. _______
3 Interest rate (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.)

4 Amount you owe (Form IT-541, Line 26) .00

5
Total interest due (Multiply Line 4 by Line 3, 
and enter the result on Form IT-541, Line 27.) .00

Delinquent Filing Penalty – A delinquent filing penalty will be 
charged for failure to file a return on or before the extended due 
date of November 15, 2025. The penalty is five percent of the tax 
for each 30 days or fraction thereof during which the failure to file 
continues calculated from the original due date. Therefore, if you 
file after the extended due date, the delinquent filing penalty that 
will be assessed is the maximum of 25 percent of the tax due.

Delinquent Filing Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Total penalty percentage .25
2 Amount you owe (Form IT-541, Line 26) .00

3
Total amount of delinquent filing penalty due 
(Multiply Line 2 by Line 1 and enter 	
the result on Form IT-541, Line 28.) .00

Important Notice: The sum of both the delinquent filing and 
delinquent payment penalties cannot exceed 25 percent of the 
tax due. Thirty-day increments are used for the calculation of the 
delinquent filing and delinquent payment penalties. These penalties 
are based on the date LDR receives the return or payment. In 
addition to the delinquent penalties mentioned above, you may 
also incur an accuracy-related penalty under La. R.S. 47:1604.1 if 
circumstances indicate negligent failure to comply with rules and 
regulations.

Delinquent Payment Penalty – If you fail to pay the tax due by 
the due date of May 15, 2025, a delinquent payment penalty of 5 
percent of the tax not paid by the due date will accrue for each 
30 days, or fraction thereof, during which the failure to pay 
continues. This penalty cannot exceed 25 percent of the tax due. 
Use the worksheet below to calculate that penalty.

Delinquent Payment Penalty Calculation Worksheet

1 Number of days late from the due date

2 Divide Line 1 by 30 days. ÷30

3
Number of 30-day periods (If fraction of
days remain, increase the amount to the 
nearest whole number.) 

4 30-day penalty percentage .05

5
Total penalty percentage (Multiply Line 3 by 
Line 4. The result cannot exceed 25 percent.)

6 Amount you owe (Form IT-541, Line 26) .00

7
Total amount of Delinquent Payment Penalty 
(Multiply Line 6 by Line 5 and enter the 
result on Form IT-541, Line 29.) .00


